blog News

Who Will Be PFA Player of the Year 2017-2018?

We are three days from finding out who will take the Player of the Year award at this year’s PFA Awards. One of the biggest social events in football calendar will take place in London on April 22nd. The nominees are in. We have the names of six players that could win the title for the best individual player in the 2017-18 season.

The six players competing for the prestigious award are Kevin De Bruyne, Harry Kane, Mohamed Salah, David de Gea, David Silva, and Leroy Sane. There are three players from Manchester City on the list, which is not much of a surprise. Apart from being the Premier League champions, Manchester City scored 93 goals, while they lost only two out of 33 matches played.

Kevin De Bruyne scored seven goals and had 15 assists. Furthermore, this season, City’s forward created more chances than any other player (102). Bruyne featured in all Premier League matches this season as well. The Belgian footballer led Manchester City to this year’s Premier League trophy with his excellent overall performance for the club.

Leroy Sane is right behind Bruyne with 12 assists in the league. Manchester City midfielder scored nine goals and played in 29 games. His performance was crucial in the club’s clash with Arsenal on March 1st, 2018. Plus, his dribbling skills were second to none this season; keeping the pace with the 22-year-old proved to be quite a challenge for City’s opponents.

David Silva is the core player of Manchester City. He was the one to step up when De Bruyne had an off game. The 32-year-old midfielder has had quite a passing impact on the club too, completing 2,207 passes with an 89% pass accuracy. Silva created 14 big chances for Sky Blues. Moreover, he scored eight goals and had 11 assists. The footballer’s performance against Stoke City was nothing but brilliant when he created three chances and scored twice.

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah is the favourite of the best betting sites in the UK. There are two major reasons for why Salah could win the Player of the Year award. For one, he helped Liverpool win both leg ties against Manchester City in the Champions League quarter-finals. Secondly, Salah is the Premier League’s top scorer this year with 30 goals. Additionally, he earned 15 points for the Reds this season. Overall, Mohamed Salah made a massive impact on the Premier League outcome this season.

Tottenham Hotspurs’ Harry Kane proved he is one of the greatest talents of his generation. Kane had 25 league goals this season. He also created five big chances and had two passes. This is the fourth time Tottenham’s striker has passed the 20-goal mark. He stands shoulder to shoulder with Alan Shearer, Sergio Aguero, and Thierry Henry, who were the only three other players with the same record.

Manchester United’s goalkeeper, David de Gea had a brilliant season. In 32 Premier League games, De Gea managed to keep 16 clean sheets. His saving percentage is the highest in the Premier League at 80%. Besides, it’d be quite exciting for De Gea to win the award. The last time a goalkeeper won the Player of the Year award was in the 1995/96 season when Denmark’s Peter Schmeichel won the title while playing for Manchester United.

To sum up, Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne are the leading candidates for winning the Player of the Year award. Perhaps it could be a joint award this year. Let us know in the comments below who do you think will win the title. Also, tell us what other players that are not on this list deserve a spot. We look forward to hearing your opinions.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Free WordPress Themes, Free Android Games